How long does it take a Popsicle to melt?

Answer: More than 20 minutes.

But who would keep a Popsicle around that long? I’m probably the only one– but only in the name of science…

I was curious about the new Popsicles that are supposed to melt slower than the classic varieties. Do they really last longer? So, I bought a box of each and put them to the test.

Time: Last night, 8:53 to 9:13 pm, Eastern time.
Location: My stovetop. Stove was not on nor had it been for at least an hour.
Ambient temperature: 75 degrees (F).
Windspeed: Negligible.
The players: In one corner, Slow Melt Cherry (the favorite) and in the other, Classic Grape (the contender).

Event time-line: The pops were each lowered carefully into a juice glass and photographed at minute zero (and every two minutes for the duration). Within the first minute, each had begun to melt at the contact points with the glass. If anything the “slow melter” was quicker at the melting. At any rate, it melted differently. For this cherry pop, the melting resulted in a slushy, not-quite-liquid, residue while the grape pop melted as expected, directly into a purple puddle. By minute 14 (pictured above), the pops had each melted more, but not enough to call off the experiment just yet. I persevered. At minute 20 they had both melted about the same amount of liquid/slush, that is to say about a half a teaspoon. The experiment ended here and the taste-test began. At this point Grape Contender was more al dente than Cherry Front-Runner which was actually quite softened (though I should mention, easier to eat because of it).

So, what have we learned? It’s not worth the extra 70 cents to buy the slow melters, unless of course you prefer those flavors and/or you like your pops with less of a bite. But, let’s remember we’re talking about ice pops here and you can’t go too far wrong, people! These suckers (haha) are tasty. But tonight I didn’t wait 20 minutes to eat mine. I’m not wasting any more time on these, I’ve got a few dozen burning a hole in my freezer.

(Now I need another experiment. Any ideas?)

8 responses to “How long does it take a Popsicle to melt?

  1. Wow. Look at you being all scientific. Hmm…other ideas for experiments…How about finding the easiest at-home ice cream recipe?

  2. that was an interesting prodject.My colleague and i did that after we saw urs

  3. This helped me alot with a sci. fair project !

    :):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):)):):):):):):):):)

  4. Is the popsicles kosher gelatin or nott? please reply

  5. I must not have had anything better to do with five minutes of my life on this Sunday afternoon, because I read this article and am compelled to post a reply.

    I believe that we, as a culture, will now never have to say, “It’s like watching paint dry” again.

    We now can say, “It’s like watching a popsicle melt.”

    In light of recent events, and events not so recent (and we all know what they are)…thank you for taking the time to enlighten the world about the heretofore unrecognized popsicle.

    Amazing.

  6. LOL Isn’t the point of the slow melt idea that kids eat popsicles outside when it is much warmer than 75 degrees? At any rate – I find the texture of these popsicles odd and I much prefer a regular old fudgesicle anyday!

    But this might make for an interesting science project for one of my children – and a tasty one also 🙂

  7. i think it will be interesting

Leave a Reply

