Shopping bag purses (part II)

The Trader Joe’s catalog came in the mail this week. Right on the second page was mention of their new shopping bag purse, in bright red flowery pattern– something they are rather dubiously calling “technicolor.” But what mostly interested me was their little spiel about it. They write: “There is a common misconception out there that a tote bag is actually a large purse… And just because it has flowers on it, by no means is it not masculine, because it is. Just in a very tropical, surfer guy kind of way.” Now, I definitely can see some guys pulling off this look, but I have yet to see anyone attempt it. All the red-bag-wearers I’ve seen so far have been women (including one particulary brazen minister toting two at a convention I attended last week). So, we’ll have to wait and see on the will-they-or-won’t-they gender question, I’ll keep you updated. As for now, my bagaholic side is doing battle with my cynical side about whether or not I need one of these for myself… but at 99 cents, can I really refuse? It can hang out with my others, the one WF clementine and the four S&S greenies. But I can tell you one thing, when I bring it home, don’t expect to see Mr. Food with it– he won’t even use the others…

One response to “Shopping bag purses (part II)

  1. bibliophilesdilemma

    Welcome baaaack!
    I just got the WF bag yesterday and am loving it so far. For some reason I always thought it would cost more than $1. Totally worth it.

Leave a Reply

